Sales Engagement Platforms: Sequencing, Dialing and Coverage Gaps
Short answer. Sales engagement platforms run a team's outreach as sequences of emails, calls and tasks, and log each touch and reply against the contact record in a CRM.
Close scores highest of the fourteen tools on this best sales engagement platforms grid, 8.0 against 7.7 for Zendesk, with the highest ease-of-setup score, 9.6. Prices were read on or after Sep 28, 2026.
Every score on this page validated by the site owner · latest validation Oct 16, 2026 · How we score
The top three
Rank follows score, nothing else; the full table of 14 is below.
Close scores 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews: ease of setup scores 9.6, with 23 of the 25 tagged reviews on it positive, and feature depth 8.1, with 21 of the 35 tagged reviews on it positive.
Zendesk scores 7.7 on 1 tagged review. Its Suite Professional plan adds an IVR phone tree and skills-based routing to what the Suite Team plan includes.
CoPilot AI scores 7.6 on 0 tagged reviews, so its score sits at the site average. Core is $199 a month, billed annually, and the vendor requires a separate paid LinkedIn subscription for each user.
Highest-scored for your situation
One tool per situation: the highest-scored of the 14 whose reviews describe that situation. Each card names what it gives up.
Close scores 8.0, the highest of the tools with team reviews, and 9.6 on ease of setup; its power dialer needs the Growth plan at $109 per user a month.
Close scores 8.0, the highest of the tools with agency reviews, but only 4 of the 37 tagged reviews come from agencies; Essentials, at $49 per user a month, has no lead cap.
Monday scores 7.0, the highest of the tools with solo reviews; only 2 of the 77 tagged reviews come from solo users, and its Basic plan has a 3-seat minimum.
All 14, side by side
Sorting reorders the table; it never changes a rank. Rank follows score, nothing else.
Sort by
| Rank | Tool | Score | Entry price | Trial | Best for | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 8.0 | $19/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 2 | 7.7* | $55/agent /mo billed annually | Team | |||
| 3 | 7.6* | $199/mo billed annually | ||||
| 4 | 7.6 | $4/mailbox /mo (billing period not stated) | Team | |||
| 5 | 7.5 | $2,000/seat /yr | Team | |||
| 6 | 7.3 | From $7/seat /mo (billing period not stated) | Team | |||
| 7 | 7.0 | $25/seat /mo billed monthly or annually | Team | |||
| 8 | 7.0 | ≈ $15 (CA$21)/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 9 | 6.8 | ≈ $24 (CA$34)/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 10 | 6.8 | $65/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 11 | 6.7 | Not published | Team | |||
| 12 | 6.5 | ≈ $18 (CA$25)/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 13 | 6.5 | $97/mo | Team | |||
| 14 | 6.5 | $35/mo (billing period not stated) | Team |
Entry prices read on each vendor's public pricing page where one exists; the oldest reading dates from Sep 28, 2026. Some of these prices have not been read again for 6 months. Check the vendors' pages before you buy. ≈ marks our US dollar conversion at European Central Bank euro reference rates of Sep 30, 2026. * Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it comes from the averages of the tools we score. How we score
The top six, in detail
The first six rows of the table, in rank order: what the reviews and the vendor's pages say about each one.
Close scores 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Close's ease of use theme has 831 mentions, all favourable. Customization draws 96 mentions for Close, 95 of them negative, and learning curve 94 mentions, 92 of them negative. Solo is $19 per user a month, billed monthly. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Sep 28, 2026.
- Close's ease of use: 831 favourable mentions
- Close's support quality scores 8.5 on 8 tagged reviews
- Close customization: 95 negative of 96 mentions
- Close learning curve: 92 negative of 94 mentions
Zendesk is a customer service platform. Only 1 tagged review sits behind its 7.7 score, so Zendesk's score is weighted toward the site average. Suite Team is $55 per agent a month, billed annually, and Suite Professional $115 per agent a month, billed annually. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Sep 29, 2026.
- SOC 2 Type II and single sign-on available
- Ticketing, messaging, telephony and AI agents
- Zendesk is scored on only 1 tagged review
- Phone support only Monday to Friday, 8 to 18 ET
CoPilot AI scores 7.6 on 0 tagged reviews: its dimensions take the site average, so the score reflects no reviewer feedback. Core is $199 a month, billed annually, on a committed term, and the vendor states each user also needs a separate paid LinkedIn subscription. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Oct 4, 2026.
- Three AI agents for strategy, targeting and replies
- Unlimited AI-generated replies on the Core plan
- CoPilot AI is scored on 0 tagged reviews
- Committed term: Core is $199 a month, billed annually
Infraforge scores 7.6 on 17 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Ease of setup scores 8.8 on the 12 tagged reviews of Infraforge that discuss it, and Infraforge's stability theme has 2 mentions, both favourable. Support quality scores 6.1, and the price level theme has 3 mentions for Infraforge, 2 of them negative. The vendor's page, read on Oct 4, 2026, sets a minimum of 10 mailbox slots.
- Infraforge's ease of setup scores 8.8 on 12 tagged reviews
- Automated DNS setup and pre-warmed domains
- Infraforge's support quality scores 6.1 on 4 tagged reviews
- Minimum purchase of 10 mailbox slots
Affinity scores 7.5 on 10 tagged reviews up to August 2026. Support quality scores 7.9 on the 4 tagged reviews of Affinity that discuss it, while feature depth scores 5.9, with 7 mixed and none positive among the 10 tagged reviews on it. Essential is $2,000 per user per year, billed annually. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Oct 5, 2026.
- Affinity's support quality scores 7.9 on 4 tagged reviews
- Relationship scoring and warm-introduction path finding
- Affinity's feature depth scores 5.9 on 10 tagged reviews
- Scale and Advanced cap API calls at 100,000 a month
HubSpot scores 7.3 on 85 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Support quality scores 8.3 on the 19 tagged reviews of HubSpot that discuss it, while value for money scores 7.5 on the 56 that discuss it. Customization draws 300 mentions for HubSpot, 292 of them negative.
- HubSpot's support quality scores 8.3 on 19 tagged reviews
- Free plan for up to 2 users
- HubSpot pricing: 337 negative of 348 mentions
- HubSpot learning curve: 394 negative of 400 mentions
Beyond the scores
What separates these tools is how much of the job each one covers: sequencing, dialing, LinkedIn steps and CRM sync. The sections below read the coverage, the dialing, the price and the evidence behind each score.
Sales engagement platforms cover sequencing, LinkedIn steps and CRM sync unevenly
Not every tool here is built around sequences. PersistIQ (6.7) sequences email, calls and tasks, Apollo (6.8) adds a dialer and meetings to its sequences, and Woodpecker (6.5) runs up to 16 steps in one campaign across email, LinkedIn and calls.
Others start from a different job. CoPilot AI (7.6) centres on LinkedIn outbound, Infraforge (7.6) sells mailboxes with dedicated IPs and leaves sending to other software, and Zendesk (7.7) is a customer service platform. Close (8.0) is a CRM with calling, email, SMS and workflows, and Pipedrive (6.8) adds auto-sequences triggered by email interactions.
Built-in dialing depends on the platform and the plan
Close puts its power dialer on the Growth plan at $109 per user a month and its predictive dialer on the Scale plan at $149. HubSpot (7.3) lists a power dialer with voicemail drops and CRM logging, though its HubSpot-provided phone numbers are not available in all countries. Apollo (6.8) includes its built-in dialer from the Basic plan.
On call recording, Pipedrive (6.8) records and transcribes calls through its Nova meeting intelligence, and Monday (7.0) records and transcribes mobile calls; Monday also lists a Calling Agent that qualifies leads and books meetings. Zendesk (7.7) puts telephony in its Suite Team plan.
Per-user prices and billing cycles differ across the platforms
Plan prices are not like for like. Close's Solo plan, limited to one user, costs $19 per user a month, and Essentials costs $49. Apollo's Basic plan costs $65 per seat a month. Salesforce prices Pro Suite at $100 per user a month, billed annually, and Zendesk prices Suite Team at $55 per agent a month, billed annually. Affinity charges $2,000 per user per year, billed annually.
Two tools require a purchase outside the plan. CoPilot AI's Core plan costs $199 a month, billed annually, and each user also needs a separate LinkedIn Sales Navigator subscription. HubSpot's Starter starts at $7 per seat a month, but its Professional plan requires a $1,500 one-time onboarding fee. On the pages we read, Pipedrive, Monday and Zoho showed Canadian dollars: CA$34 per seat a month, CA$21 per seat a month and CA$25 per user a month.
Review counts behind the four highest scores differ widely
The top sales engagement platforms on this grid are Close at 8.0, Zendesk at 7.7, CoPilot AI at 7.6 and Infraforge at 7.6, and the evidence behind them differs. Close's 8.0 rests on 37 tagged reviews and Infraforge's 7.6 on 17 tagged reviews. Zendesk has 1 tagged review, so its score is weighted toward the site average; CoPilot AI has none and is scored at the site average. Further down, Apollo (6.8) and Pipedrive (6.8) each rest on 104 tagged reviews. In the table, an asterisk marks each score that rests on fewer than 10 tagged reviews.
Before you choose
A sales engagement platform is the software layer between a contact list and a CRM: it schedules email, call and task steps and records each reply. The 14 tools on this page range from sequencing tools to CRMs, a customer service platform and sending infrastructure.
A CRM stores the contact, the deal and the history; a sales engagement platform schedules the outreach steps and records the replies. The line blurs here: HubSpot (7.3) lists multi-channel sequences alongside deal pipelines and forecasting, and Monday (7.0) lists email, call and task sequences.
Not every tool here is priced per user. HighLevel's Starter is $97 a month and lists unlimited users, Infraforge lists $4 per mailbox a month with a minimum of 10 mailbox slots, and Woodpecker bills by contacted prospect, at $35 a month for 500 contacted prospects, and lists unlimited team members free.
Close (8.0), Apollo (6.8) and HubSpot (7.3) list a dialer. For call recording, Close lists call recording retention, Pipedrive (6.8) records and transcribes calls, and Monday (7.0) does so for mobile calls. Woodpecker (6.5), PersistIQ (6.7) and Zoho (6.5) put calls inside their sequences or cadences.
Yes, where a native CRM sync is listed: CoPilot AI (7.6) and Apollo (6.8) list native integrations with both HubSpot (7.3) and Salesforce (7.0), PersistIQ (6.7) syncs both ways with Salesforce, and Woodpecker (6.5) two-way with HubSpot.
PersistIQ (6.7) lists small teams as its audience and Pipedrive (6.8) small businesses. Close (8.0) spans a Solo plan at $19 per user a month to a Scale plan at $149, and Zoho (6.5) limits its free edition to 3 users.
Where to go next
The pages this ranking links to: its category, neighbouring rankings and guides.
Affiliate linksThis page contains affiliate links: some vendors pay us a commission when you subscribe through their Try button. Scores come from public user reviews, on the same grid for every scored tool. Affiliate disclosure
Score colours: under 77 to 7.47.5 to 7.98 and above* Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it comes from the averages of the tools we score.
Four dimensions only. The fifth changes with the category, so it would not compare.