Cold Email Tools for Recruiters: Outreach to Candidates, Not Buyers
Reply.io scores highest of the thirteen tools on this cold email tools for recruiters grid, 8.6 on 30 tagged reviews. Its value for money scores 9.7 on 13 tagged reviews.
Every score on this page validated by the site owner · latest validation Oct 16, 2026 · How we score
The top three
Rank follows score, nothing else; the full table of 13 is below.
Reply.io scores 8.6 on 30 tagged reviews: ease of use draws 82 favourable mentions, while the learning curve draws 28 negative mentions and the sequence builder 19.
Close scores 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews: ease of setup scores 9.6, with 23 of the 25 tagged reviews on it positive, and feature depth 8.1, with 21 of the 35 tagged reviews on it positive.
Outreach scores 7.8 on 37 tagged reviews: ease of use draws 93 favourable mentions, while feature range draws 33 negative mentions, learning curve 25 and customization 20.
Highest-scored for your situation
One tool per situation: the highest-scored of the 13 whose reviews describe that situation. Each card names what it gives up.
Reply.io scores 8.6, the highest of the tools with team reviews, and 10 of its 30 tagged reviews come from teams; its feature depth scores 8.3 on 24 tagged reviews.
Reply.io scores 8.6, the highest of the tools with agency reviews, but only 1 of the 30 tagged reviews comes from an agency; its Agency Core plan lists unlimited clients and users.
Apollo scores 6.8, the highest of the tools with solo reviews, but only 2 of the 104 tagged reviews come from solo users; its Basic plan lists 2,500 credits per seat a month.
All 13, side by side
Sorting reorders the table; it never changes a rank. Rank follows score, nothing else.
Sort by
| Rank | Tool | Score | Entry price | Trial | Best for | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 8.6 | From $89/seat /mo billed annually | Team | |||
| 2 | 8.0 | $19/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 3 | 7.8 | Quote | Team | |||
| 4 | 7.8* | $280/mo | Team | |||
| 5 | 7.8 | $600/mo (billing period not stated) | Team | |||
| 6 | 7.6* | $199/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 7 | 7.6* | $199/mo billed annually | ||||
| 8 | 7.6* | $19/seat /mo (billing period not stated) | ||||
| 9 | 7.3 | From $7/seat /mo (billing period not stated) | Team | |||
| 10 | 6.8 | From $185/mo | Team | |||
| 11 | 6.8 | $65/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 12 | 6.5 | $97/mo | Team | |||
| 13 | 6.5 | $35/mo (billing period not stated) | Team |
Entry prices read on each vendor's public pricing page; the oldest reading dates from Sep 27, 2026. Some of these prices have not been read again for 6 months. Check the vendors' pages before you buy. * Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it is the site average. How we score
The top six, in detail
The first six rows of the table, in rank order: what the reviews and the vendor's pages say about each one.
Reply.io scores 8.6 on 30 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Ease of setup scores 8.7 and support quality 9.6, with 17 favourable mentions of customer support and none negative. The learning curve draws 28 negative mentions and customization 21. Multichannel starts at $89 per user a month, billed annually, read on the vendor's page on Oct 13, 2026.
- Ease of use draws 82 favourable mentions, 1 negative
- Customer support draws 17 favourable mentions, none negative
- Learning curve negative in 28 of 29 mentions
- Sequence builder negative in 19 of 21 mentions
Close scores 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Close's ease of use theme has 831 mentions, all favourable. Customization draws 96 mentions for Close, 95 of them negative, and learning curve 94 mentions, 92 of them negative. Solo is $19 per user a month, billed monthly. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Sep 28, 2026.
- Close's ease of use: 831 favourable mentions
- Close's support quality scores 8.5 on 8 tagged reviews
- Close customization: 95 negative of 96 mentions
- Close learning curve: 92 negative of 94 mentions
Outreach scores 7.8 on 37 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Value for money scores 9.6 on 21 tagged reviews and ease of setup 7.9 on 23, while feature depth scores 7.4 on 35. Learning curve draws 25 negative mentions, and Outreach lists multi-stakeholder sequences, read on Sep 29, 2026.
- Ease of use draws 93 favourable mentions
- Value for money scores 9.6 on 21 tagged reviews
- Feature range draws 33 negative mentions
- Learning curve draws 25 negative mentions
Artisan scores 7.8 on 9 tagged reviews. Value for money scores 9.0 on 7 tagged reviews, ease of setup 8.2 on 7 and support quality 8.1 on 3. Feature depth scores 7.2 on 9 tagged reviews. Output quality draws 4 negative mentions and feature range draws 3, and the Free plan cannot run campaigns, read on Oct 4, 2026.
- Value for money scores 9.0 on 7 tagged reviews
- Ease of setup scores 8.2 on 7 tagged reviews
- Output quality draws 4 negative mentions
- Feature range draws 3 negative mentions
Amplemarket scores 7.8 on 13 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Value for money scores 9.4 on 9 tagged reviews and ease of setup 8.6 on 8, while feature depth scores 6.9 on 13. Learning curve draws 30 negative mentions and sequence builder 28, and Amplemarket lists a free trial on all plans, read on Sep 28, 2026.
- Ease of use draws 138 favourable mentions
- Value for money scores 9.4 on 9 tagged reviews
- Feature range draws 57 negative mentions
- Learning curve draws 30 negative mentions
Valley scores 7.6 on 3 tagged reviews up to March 2026, so its score is weighted toward the site average. Feature depth scores 7.1 on the 3 tagged reviews of Valley that discuss it, with 1 positive and 1 mixed. Starter is $199 per seat a month, and Valley Scale requires at least 5 seats. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Sep 27, 2026.
- Explains why each prospect matches the ideal customer
- LinkedIn and email in one sequence
- Valley is scored on only 3 tagged reviews
- Valley Scale requires at least 5 seats
Beyond the scores
This page compares the tools on what recruiters emailing candidates and hiring managers can check: channels beyond email, contact data, trial lengths and sending limits. It does not cover job seekers writing to recruiters.
Channels beyond email: what the vendors list for LinkedIn and calls
Amplemarket lists LinkedIn, WhatsApp and iMessage steps in its multichannel sequences, read on Sep 28, 2026. Woodpecker lists combined email, LinkedIn and call steps, up to 16 in one campaign, with LinkedIn automation through Dux-Soup, read on Oct 4, 2026. Reply.io's Email Volume plan sells a LinkedIn add-on at $69 a month per account and a Calls & SMS add-on at $29 a month per account, read on Oct 11, 2026. Artisan lists email and social sequences and a built-in dialer, where its AI agent queues warm prospects for reps to call, read on Oct 4 and Sep 29, 2026.
Contact databases and enrichment sources the vendors name
Apollo lists a database of 240M+ contacts and 30M+ companies, read on Oct 3, 2026, and waterfall enrichment across 20+ vendors, read on Sep 25, 2026. Artisan lists 250M+ contacts enriched from 22+ sources, and Woodpecker lists a B2B lead database of 1B+, with 100 Lead Finder credits on its plan for 500 contacted prospects, both read on Oct 4, 2026. Clay lists multi-provider enrichment waterfalls, with phone number enrichment on its Launch plan, read on Oct 3, 2026. Reply.io lists a real-time database of 1B+ contacts with 16 filters, read on Oct 4, 2026.
Trial lengths and card requirements differ across these tools
HubSpot, Apollo, Close, Woodpecker, HighLevel, Clay, Intercom and Reply.io each list a 14-day free trial, read between Sep 25 and Oct 5, 2026. Valley lists a 7-day free trial that needs a payment method, read on Oct 4, 2026, and Apollo's trial includes 75 credits, read on Oct 3, 2026. Amplemarket and Artisan list a free trial without a stated length, read on Sep 28 and Sep 29, 2026. Woodpecker's trial runs 14 days or 100 emails with no card needed, read on Sep 27, 2026, and Close lists no credit card for its trial, read on Sep 28, 2026. This page reads no trial for CoPilot AI or Outreach.
Warm-up and sending limits the vendors publish
Reply.io lists built-in email warm-up, read on Sep 27, 2026. Woodpecker lists automatic warm-up, with 2 warm-ups included in its plan for 500 contacted prospects, and a limit of 5,500 emails per 24 hours per email account, read on Oct 4, 2026; mailboxes bought through Woodpecker are limited to 250 emails a day for Google or Microsoft and 100 a day for Maildoso or Infraforge, read on Sep 27, 2026. Amplemarket lists deliverability testing and warm-up, read on Oct 5, 2026, and Artisan lists deliverability monitoring on its Intern plan, read on Sep 29, 2026.
Before you choose
This page reads no ATS or recruiting-CRM link in the vendors' pages. The CRM syncs they list are general ones: Reply.io lists native sync with HubSpot, Salesforce, Pipedrive and Copper, and CoPilot AI native HubSpot and Salesforce sync, read on Sep 27, 2026.
Four tools here publish a free plan: HubSpot, Apollo, Clay and Artisan. Clay's Free plan allows 500 actions a month with unlimited seats, and Artisan's gives 300 credits a month for lists and enrichment but cannot run campaigns, read between Sep 25 and Oct 4, 2026.
This page does not read whether any tool finds a candidate's personal email; the databases described for Apollo, Artisan and Woodpecker are B2B ones. Valley's Plus plan lists email waterfall enrichment across 15+ data providers, and its pages say finding and verifying emails use credits, read on Sep 27 and Oct 4, 2026.
Reply.io lists email, LinkedIn and SMS steps in its multichannel sequences, read on Sep 27, 2026. Close describes itself as a CRM with calling, email, SMS and workflows, read on Oct 5, 2026.
This page does not test inbox placement. Apollo lists a deliverability suite with warm-up, verification and monitoring, read on Sep 25, 2026, and Woodpecker lists unlimited email verification that includes catch-all addresses, read on Sep 27, 2026.
This page does not set a number of follow-ups. It lists what sequences can do: Reply.io lists conditional branches in sequences, read on Oct 17, 2026, and Outreach lists out-of-office detection that pauses sequences, read on Sep 29, 2026.
Where to go next
The pages this ranking links to: its category, neighbouring rankings and guides.
Affiliate linksThis page contains affiliate links: some vendors pay us a commission when you subscribe through their Try button. Scores come from public user reviews, on the same grid for every scored tool. Affiliate disclosure
Four dimensions only. The fifth changes with the category, so it would not compare.