CRM Software Development: Building One Instead of Buying
Close scores highest of the fourteen tools on this CRM software development page, 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews, with value for money at 8.8. Prices were read on or after Sep 28, 2026.
Every score on this page validated by the site owner · latest validation Oct 16, 2026 · How we score
The top three
Rank follows score, nothing else; the full table of 14 is below.
Close scores 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews: ease of setup scores 9.6, with 23 of the 25 tagged reviews on it positive, and feature depth 8.1, with 21 of the 35 tagged reviews on it positive.
noCRM.io scores 7.9 on 91 tagged reviews: ease of use draws 77 favourable mentions, while feature range draws 13 negative mentions and integrations draw 7 negative mentions.
Zendesk scores 7.7 on 1 tagged review. Its Suite Professional plan adds an IVR phone tree and skills-based routing to what the Suite Team plan includes.
Highest-scored for your situation
One tool per situation: the highest-scored of the 14 whose reviews describe that situation. Each card names what it gives up.
Close scores 8.0, the highest of the tools with team reviews, and 18 of its 37 tagged reviews come from teams; its Essentials plan costs $49 per user a month.
Close scores 8.0, the highest of the tools with agency reviews, though only 4 of its 37 tagged reviews come from agencies. HighLevel, aimed at agencies, caps its Starter plan at 3 sub-accounts.
noCRM.io scores 7.9, the highest of the tools with solo reviews, though only 3 of its 91 tagged reviews come from solo users; its Starter plan stops at 500 leads.
All 14, side by side
Sorting reorders the table; it never changes a rank. Rank follows score, nothing else.
Sort by
| Rank | Tool | Score | Entry price | Trial | Best for | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 8.0 | $19/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 2 | 7.9 | $22/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 3 | 7.7* | $55/agent /mo billed annually | Team | |||
| 4 | 7.6* | $5/seat /mo (billing period not stated) | ||||
| 5 | 7.6* | $19/seat /mo (billing period not stated) | ||||
| 6 | 7.6* | $9/mo | Team | |||
| 7 | 7.5 | $2,000/seat /yr | Team | |||
| 8 | 7.3 | From $7/seat /mo (billing period not stated) | Team | |||
| 9 | 7.0 | $25/seat /mo billed monthly or annually | Team | |||
| 10 | 7.0 | ≈ $15 (CA$21)/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 11 | 6.8 | ≈ $24 (CA$34)/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 12 | 6.8 | $65/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 13 | 6.5 | ≈ $18 (CA$25)/seat /mo | Team | |||
| 14 | 6.5 | $97/mo | Team |
Entry prices read on each vendor's public pricing page; the oldest reading dates from Sep 28, 2026. Some of these prices have not been read again for 6 months. Check the vendors' pages before you buy. ≈ marks our US dollar conversion at European Central Bank euro reference rates of Sep 30, 2026. * Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it comes from the averages of the tools we score. How we score
The top six, in detail
The first six rows of the table, in rank order: what the reviews and the vendor's pages say about each one.
Close scores 8.0 on 37 tagged reviews up to September 2026. Close's ease of use theme has 831 mentions, all favourable. Customization draws 96 mentions for Close, 95 of them negative, and learning curve 94 mentions, 92 of them negative. Solo is $19 per user a month, billed monthly. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Sep 28, 2026.
- Close's ease of use: 831 favourable mentions
- Close's support quality scores 8.5 on 8 tagged reviews
- Close customization: 95 negative of 96 mentions
- Close learning curve: 92 negative of 94 mentions
noCRM.io scores 7.9 on 91 tagged reviews up to October 2026. Ease of setup scores 9.5 and value for money 9.8, while feature depth scores 7.2 and support quality 7.7. Starter, Expert and Dream are $22, $34 and $46 per user a month on the monthly tab, read on the vendor's page on Sep 29, 2026.
- Ease of use draws 77 favourable mentions
- Value for money scores 9.8 on 49 tagged reviews
- Feature range draws 13 negative mentions among 59
- Integrations draw 7 negative mentions among 19
Zendesk is a customer service platform. Only 1 tagged review sits behind its 7.7 score, so Zendesk's score is weighted toward the site average. Suite Team is $55 per agent a month, billed annually, and Suite Professional $115 per agent a month, billed annually. Prices were read on the vendor's page on Sep 29, 2026.
- SOC 2 Type II and single sign-on available
- Ticketing, messaging, telephony and AI agents
- Zendesk is scored on only 1 tagged review
- Phone support only Monday to Friday, 8 to 18 ET
Agentforce builds agents in plain language on Canvas and routes tasks from a primary agent to specialized agents, read on Oct 5, 2026. It lists Data 360, Slack and MuleSoft as native tools, read on Sep 27, 2026. Actions cost 20 Flex Credits each and Voice actions 30, read on Sep 27, 2026. The site holds no tagged review counts for Agentforce.
- Plain-language agent building in a Canvas workspace
- Multi-agent orchestration routes tasks to specialized agents
- Each action costs 20 Flex Credits, each Voice action 30
- Flex Credits are sold at $500 per 100k Credits
Intercom lists an inbox covering email, live chat, phone, SMS and WhatsApp, read on Sep 28, 2026. Essential is $19, Advanced $85 and Expert $132 per seat a month, billing period not stated, read on Oct 11, 2026. The pricing FAQ says there is no free plan, and a 14-day free trial needs no credit card. The site holds no tagged review counts for Intercom.
- Email, live chat, phone, SMS and WhatsApp in one inbox
- Fin AI agent listed on every plan
- Intercom lists no free plan; the trial lasts 14 days
- Fin is billed from $0.99 per outcome
Brevo scores 7.6 on 2 tagged reviews up to August 2026, too few to set a theme count. The vendor lists email, SMS, WhatsApp and push campaigns, read on Sep 28, 2026. Starter is $9 a month, Standard $18 and Professional $499, all billed monthly, read on Oct 5, 2026, and phone support starts on Professional.
- Email, SMS, WhatsApp and push campaigns on one platform
- Drag-and-drop campaign editor and built-in marketing automation
- Free plan capped at 300 emails per day after approval
- Phone support only on Professional, $499 a month billed monthly
Beyond the scores
What separates the fourteen tools is the price per seat, the effort to learn them and the evidence behind each score. The sections below read scope, prices, the learning curve and the review counts.
What this page covers, and what it leaves to a provider
This page compares no CRM software development services and reads no agency prices or delivery times. It ranks fourteen tools you can buy as they stand and reads no quotes for custom CRM software development.
Those tools differ in kind. Salesforce is sales force automation software with AI agents. Affinity is an AI-powered CRM for private capital relationship intelligence. HighLevel is an all-in-one platform with CRM, funnels and automation. Pipedrive is a sales pipeline CRM with automations and AI, and it scores 6.8 on 104 tagged reviews. Each tool is scored on the same five dimensions.
Seat prices come in different units, currencies and billing cycles
The prices do not line up. Salesforce's Pro Suite costs $100 per user a month, billed annually, its Core plan $195 per user a month, billed annually, and its Advanced plan $395 per user a month, billed annually. HighLevel's Starter plan costs $97 a month with 3 sub-accounts, and its Unlimited plan $297 a month. Pipedrive's Lite plan is CA$34 per seat a month, Monday's Basic plan CA$21 per seat a month and Zoho's Standard plan CA$25 per user a month. Those three are published in Canadian dollars. Prices were read between Sep 29 and Oct 6, 2026.
What reviewers say it costs to learn and bend a ready-made tool
The tagged reviews price adoption in effort as well as money. The learning curve theme draws 1,122 mentions for Salesforce, 1,119 of them negative. Apollo's learning curve draws 469 mentions, 467 of them negative. Zoho's learning curve draws 138 mentions, 137 of them negative, while its customization draws 39 mentions, 32 of them favourable and 5 negative. Pipedrive's learning curve draws 114 mentions, 112 of them negative.
Pricing is another recurring complaint: it draws 639 mentions for Salesforce, 637 of them negative, and 125 for Pipedrive, 113 of them negative. These reviews cover tools already on sale, not custom builds.
How many tagged reviews stand behind each score differs a lot
A score is only as firm as the reviews behind it, and the counts differ widely. Affinity's 7.5 rests on 10 tagged reviews. HighLevel's 6.5 rests on 69 tagged reviews. Monday's 7.0 rests on 77 tagged reviews. Zoho's 6.5 rests on 81 tagged reviews. Salesforce's 7.0 rests on 82 tagged reviews. Apollo's 6.8 rests on 104 tagged reviews. The reviews run up to September 2026 for these tools, except Affinity, whose reviews run to August 2026. In the table, an asterisk marks each score that rests on fewer than 10 tagged reviews.
Before you choose
This page reads no build timelines: it ranks tools you can buy, not agencies building one. The nearest measure here is ease of setup, which Pipedrive scores 8.6 on 79 tagged reviews.
This page reads no agency quotes or project prices, so it gives no cost range for a custom build. What it reads are tool prices: Apollo's Basic plan costs $65 per seat a month, billed monthly, read on Oct 3, 2026.
That depends on your process, and this page reads no build costs or timelines. List the steps your team follows and the data it records, then check which of the fourteen ranked tools can hold them.
This page sets no security standard for a custom build. For tools you can buy, the vendors' pages publish facts a buyer can check: Close lists SOC 2 Type 2, single sign-on and a data processing agreement, read on Sep 28, 2026.
This page sets no feature minimum for a custom build. The vendors' pages show what ready-made tools publish: Pipedrive lists Kanban-style sales pipelines and workflow automations, and Close a power dialer, built-in forms and automated workflows, read between Sep 29 and Oct 5, 2026.
This page reads no open-source platform, so it says nothing on how far those bend. For a ready-made tool, the nearest reading is review mentions: Salesforce's customization draws 28 mentions, 22 of them favourable and 3 negative, from tagged reviews up to September 2026.
Where to go next
The pages this ranking links to: its category, neighbouring rankings and guides.
* Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it comes from the averages of the tools we score.
Affiliate linksThis page contains affiliate links: some vendors pay us a commission when you subscribe through their Try button. Scores come from public user reviews, on the same grid for every scored tool. Affiliate disclosure
Score colours: under 77 to 7.47.5 to 7.98 and above* Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it comes from the averages of the tools we score.
Four dimensions only. The fifth changes with the category, so it would not compare.