Engagement & CRM · Head to head

HubSpot vs Zapier: Native Automation or an External Layer

HubSpot vs Zapier sets a sales platform against an automation platform: HubSpot scores 7.3 on 85 tagged reviews. Zapier scores 6.5 on 15, too few for this page to rank the two.

HubSpot7.3 vs Zapier6.5

20,000+ public reviews as of Sep 2026 · same 5-dimension grid for every scored tool · Scores last recalculated on Oct 16, 2026

Every score on this page validated by the site owner · latest validation Oct 16, 2026 · How we score

Head to head

HubSpot and Zapier, side by side

Neither card is tinted: the scores are less than 0.3 points apart, or the tagged reviews are too few to compare them.

7.3/ 10
HubSpot
Sales teams

Pick HubSpot if you want sequences and deal pipelines in one tool: 7.3 on 85 tagged reviews.

From $7/seat /mo (billing period not stated)Free plan14-day free trialread between Sep 28 and Oct 12, 2026
6.5/ 10
Zapier
Individuals, teams, enterprises

Pick Zapier if your steps must reach many apps: it lists 9,000+ apps.

From $29.99/moFree plan14-day free trialread Sep 29, 2026
Side by side

Line by line

A value is marked only when it is clearly higher: by 0.3 on the score or 0.5 on a dimension, with at least 30 tagged reviews behind each of the two values. The fifth dimension changes with the category and stays out of this table.

HubSpot Zapier
Our score
7.3
6.5
Four dimensions, same grid
Ease of setup
6.8
6.7
Feature depth
7.9
8.0
Value for money
7.5
6.5
Support quality
8.3
5.8
Price and plan
Entry priceFrom $7/seat /mo (billing period not stated)From $29.99/mo
Free planFree planFree plan
Free trial14-day free trial14-day free trial
Fit
Team sizeTeam · AgencyTeam
Public reviews14,000+5,400+

Zapier is a general-purpose tool: its public review count covers every use; tagged reviews about other uses are left out of its scores.

Team size comes from tagged reviews, or from the vendor's own pages when reviews name none.

Neither is clearly higher on our grid: HubSpot 7.3, Zapier 6.5 overall. Entry prices: HubSpot from $7/seat /mo (billing period not stated), Zapier from $29.99/mo.

Entry prices read on each vendor's public pricing page; the older of the two readings dates from Sep 29, 2026.

In depth

What separates the two, in the tagged reviews

HubSpot vs Zapier pricing: both list a Free plan, with different limits

HubSpot lists a Free plan at $0 a month for up to 2 users, read on Oct 12, 2026; Zapier lists a Free plan at $0 a month with 100 tasks per month, read on Sep 29, 2026. HubSpot publishes a 14-day free trial, and Zapier a 14-day free trial of Professional with no credit card required. Zapier's Professional plan starts at $29.99 a month. HubSpot's Starter starts at $7 per seat a month and its Professional at $90, billing period not stated; Professional also requires a $1,500 one-time onboarding fee.

When HubSpot's own automation is enough and when an external layer helps

HubSpot lists automated multi-channel outreach, A/B tests on sequence emails and deal pipelines, and 19 of its 23 mentions of automation are favourable, so outreach and pipeline steps can run inside HubSpot. Zapier lists multi-step Zap workflows, filters and Paths, and connects to 9,000+ apps, which is where an external layer applies: steps that must reach apps outside HubSpot's listed integrations.

Zapier meters automation in tasks, HubSpot in HubSpot Credits

Zapier's Professional plan includes 750 tasks per month, and its Zaps pause at the task limit when pay-per-task billing is off. HubSpot's Starter plan includes 500 HubSpot Credits, Professional 3,000 and Enterprise 5,000; included credits reset monthly with no rollover, and extra credits cost $0.010 per credit. The two units are not the same, so this page does not say which costs less as volume grows.

Questions

Before you choose

HubSpot lists automated multi-channel outreach, with 9 of 11 mentions of sequences favourable; Zapier lists multi-step Zap workflows, and its Free plan allows two-step Zaps within 100 tasks per month.

This page reads no fact that settles it: Zapier connects to 9,000+ apps, and the answer depends on which apps your steps must reach and what the CRM's own sequences already cover.

Zapier lists HubSpot, Salesforce and Slack among its integrations, read on Sep 29, 2026. Its integrations draw 8 mentions, 6 of them favourable; this page cannot say whether your tools are covered.

Zapier's Free plan includes 100 tasks per month and HubSpot's Starter 500 HubSpot Credits. The units differ, so this page does not say which costs less.

Zapier lists this CRM among its integrations, read on Sep 29, 2026, and a 2 min polling time on Professional. This page reads no setup guide for the two together, so it cannot say how well that works.

The CRM's product page lists customizing sales workflows and sequences on Professional, read on Oct 6, 2026. This page reads no plan-by-plan workflow list, so it cannot say what Free or Starter allow.