AI Automation · Review

Browserless Review: Headless Browsers Run as a Service

Browserless fits developers who want managed headless browsersIn this Browserless review, one unit covers up to 30 seconds of browser time per connection, read on Sep 29, 2026.

3 public reviews as of Sep 2026 · same 5-dimension grid for every scored tool · Scores last recalculated on Oct 16, 2026

A general-purpose tool: the public review count covers every use; tagged reviews about other uses are left out of its scores.

Try Browserless See pricing

Every score on this page validated by the site owner · latest validation Oct 16, 2026 · How we score

7.6
OUR SCORE / 10
No tagged review counts: scored at the site average
ai automation tools we score
$35 /mo No free trial stated Read on the vendor's pricing page on Sep 29, 2026
Browserless in three sentences

Browserless is a managed headless-browser platform for scraping, automation and AI agents, read on Sep 29, 2026. Its Free plan lists 1k units a month, and Prototyping is $25 a month, billed annually, with 20k units per month, read on Sep 29, 2026. This Browserless review holds no tagged review count.

▶
Demo video
Demo video · 5 min

See it before you read on

Nothing loads from the video host until you press play; the player then opens in privacy-enhanced mode.

Price

What it costs

Five plans. Every figure read on the vendor's pricing page on Sep 29, 2026.

Browserless pricing in US dollars, monthly billing
Spotted a change? Tell us
Free
$0 /mo
Units / month
1k
Max session time
2 min
Persisted sessions storage
1 day
Log search window
8 hours
Choose Free
Prototyping
$35 /mo
$25 /mo billed annually
Units / month
20k
Max session time
15 min
Persisted sessions storage
7 days
Log search window
24 hours
Choose Prototyping
Starter
$200 /mo
$140 /mo billed annually
Units / month
180k
Max session time
30 min
Persisted sessions storage
30 days
Log search window
3 days
Choose Starter
Scale
$500 /mo
$350 /mo billed annually
Units / month
500k
Max session time
60 min
Persisted sessions storage
90 days
Log search window
7 days
Choose Scale
Enterprise
Quote
Annual price not published
Units / month
Not published
Max session time
Not published
Persisted sessions storage
Custom
Log search window
7 days
Choose Enterprise
What the listed price does not sayRead on the vendor's pricing and terms pages
Unit quotas span 1k to 500k unitsFree lists 1k units a month and Scale 500k units per month; Prototyping lists 20k and Starter 180k, read on Sep 29, 2026.
Maximum session time rises with the planMaximum session time is 2 min on Free, 15 min on Prototyping, 30 min on Starter and 60 min on Scale, read on Sep 29, 2026.
What changed since we last lookedOnly what we read ourselves, dated
Sep 29, 2026
Prices read

Browserless pricing page read: Prototyping $35 a month billed monthly or $25 billed annually, Starter $200 or $140, Scale $500 or $350; Enterprise is quote-only.

Oct 16, 2026
Scores recalculated

Scores set with no tagged review counts.

Features

What you get, what you don't

Six things Browserless does. None of the six is missing on the vendor's pages.

StealthBuilt inStealth fingerprints
CAPTCHA solvingAutomaticBilled at 10 units per solve
ProxiesResidential, datacenter6 and 2 units per MB
MCP serverHostedNine tools for AI agents
REST APIsBuilt inPDF, screenshot and download
Self-hostingAvailableOpen-source and private Docker versions
Does it fit your stack?Read on the vendor's public pages between Sep 29 and Oct 4, 2026 · "Not published" means the vendor does not say
Integrations
What connects, and how
  • ClaudeNative
  • CursorNative
  • PuppeteerNative
  • PlaywrightNative
  • LangChainNative
Security & compliance
What your IT team will ask
  • Data hostedPrimarily US
  • GDPR data processing agreementEnterprise plan
  • SOC 2 reportType II
  • Single sign-onEnterprise plan
Support
Channels, hours, and what reviewers say
  • ChannelsEmail
  • Hours9am-5pm PST
  • PhoneNot published
  • Tagged reviewsNone discuss support
Evidence

The data behind the score

Our five scores against the average of the tools we score.

BrowserlessAverage of the tools we score
DimensionScorevs averageRead as positive
Ease of setup
8.4
0.0
None discuss it
Feature depth
7.5
0.0
None discuss it
Value for money
8.3
0.0
None discuss it
Support quality
7.3
0.0
None discuss it
Output reliabilityCategory dimension
6.9
0.0
None discuss it

How we score

Fit

Should you buy it?

Name your dealbreaker. No profile is scored on its own yet: too few tagged reviews per profile, so the page shows the overall score.

Your dealbreaker
7.6all reviewers

Buy it if You are a developer who wants Puppeteer or Playwright scripts, REST APIs or BrowserQL on managed browsers, starting from a Free plan of 1k units a month, read on Sep 29, 2026. Skip it if You want no per-unit overage: paid plans bill it, from $0.0020 per unit on Prototyping to $0.0015 on Scale, read on Sep 29, 2026.

Before you signEach question comes from a weakness this page names

Questions to ask the vendor

  1. What does a typical scraping job cost in units once proxies and CAPTCHA solves are counted?Residential proxies are listed at 6 units per MB, datacenter proxies at 2 and a CAPTCHA solve at 10 units, read on Sep 29, 2026.
  2. Can the maximum session time on Scale be raised for long jobs?Scale lists a maximum session time of 60 min, read on Sep 29, 2026.
  3. How many units does an Enterprise deployment include, and how are they priced?Enterprise is quote-only and lists millions of units consumed, read on Sep 29, 2026.
Alternatives

If Browserless isn't it

Three tools we score in this category. Each card names where the tool is weaker. Unit length, Reconnect charges and Overage billing have no card: we hold no published fact that shows another tool here does better. Click a card, or a name below, to put it next to Browserless.

Octoparse
If you want to build scrapers without code
8.0+0.4 vs Browserless
Scored on 4 tagged reviews: weighted toward the site average
From $83 /mo14-day free trial
Read on the vendor's pricing page between Sep 29 and Oct 5, 2026
  • No-code visual builder with AI auto-detect and drag-and-drop, read on Sep 29, 2026
  • Credits and quotas draws 1 negative mention in its reviews
Our review Try
ScrapingBee
If you want AI extraction from a plain-language query
7.9+0.3 vs Browserless
Scored on 3 tagged reviews: weighted toward the site average
$19 /mo (billing period not stated)No free trial stated
Read on the vendor's pricing page on Oct 5, 2026
  • AI extraction by natural-language query or JSON rules, read on Sep 29, 2026
  • Customization draws 1 negative mention in its reviews
Our review Try
ZenRows
If you want typed JSON from supported sites
7.7+0.1 vs Browserless
Scored on 2 tagged reviews: weighted toward the site average
$19 /moNo free trial stated
Read on the vendor's pricing page on Oct 5, 2026
  • Typed JSON extraction on supported sites, read on Sep 29, 2026
  • Stability draws 1 negative mention in its reviews
Our review Try
Side by side

Browserless vs Octoparse

Compare Browserless with
Browserless Octoparse ScrapingBee ZenRows
Our score
7.6*
8.0*
7.9*
7.7*
Price and plan
Entry price$35 /moFrom $83 /mo$19 /mo (billing period not stated)$19 /mo
Free planFree planFree planNo free plan statedFree plan
Free trialNo free trial stated14-day free trialNo free trial statedNo free trial stated
Four dimensions, same grid
Ease of setup
8.4
9.1
9.0
8.8
Feature depth
7.5
7.6
7.9
7.2
Value for money
8.3
8.3
8.3
8.7
Support quality
7.3
7.6
7.3
7.3
Fit
Allowance unitUnitsTasksAPI creditsCredits
Support channelsEmailEmailChat and emailEmail, chat
Main strengthManaged headless browsersNo-code visual web scraperHeadless Chrome JavaScript renderingWeb page fetching and extraction

Cloud extraction is listed on premium plans, and IP rotation is built in on Octoparse Cloud, read between Sep 29 and Oct 5, 2026.

Same five-dimension grid for every tool; the fifth dimension changes with the category and stays out of this table. Prices and integrations read on each vendor's public pages between Sep 29 and Oct 5, 2026. * Under 10 tagged reviews: the score is weighted toward the site average; with none, it is the site average.

In depth

What the vendor's pages say, in depth

Plans

Browserless pricing runs from a Free plan to Scale

Browserless pricing counts usage in units per month: Free lists 1k units, Prototyping 20k, Starter 180k and Scale 500k, read on Sep 29, 2026. Free is $0 a month. Prototyping is $35 a month, billed monthly, or $25 a month, billed annually.

Starter is $200 a month, billed monthly, or $140 a month, billed annually. Scale is $500 a month, billed monthly, or $350 a month, billed annually. Enterprise is quote-only and lists private deployments or licensed self-hosting, read on Sep 29, 2026.

Sessions

Concurrency, storage and logs grow with each plan

Concurrent browsers go from 2 on Free to 5 on Prototyping, 30 on Starter and 80 on Scale when billed monthly, and to 10, 40 and 100 when billed annually, read on Sep 29, 2026.

Persisted sessions and replays are stored for 1 day on Free, 7 days on Prototyping, 30 days on Starter and 90 days on Scale. The log search window grows from 8 hours on Free to 7 days on Scale, read on Sep 29, 2026.

Features

Browserless lists REST APIs, BrowserQL and a hosted MCP server

The pricing page lists Puppeteer and Playwright connections through a quick endpoint change, a BrowserQL language and editor on the Free plan, and REST APIs for PDF, screenshot and file download, read on Sep 29, 2026. The site also lists a smart scrape API that escalates from HTTP fetch to a browser and CAPTCHA solving.

Browserless runs a hosted MCP server for AI agents, and Claude Desktop and Cursor sign in with OAuth, read on Sep 29, 2026. The documentation lists LangChain and Zapier as native integrations, and Make and n8n as connecting through Zapier or the API.

Access

Stealth, proxies and self-hosting are all listed

The homepage lists stealth fingerprints as built in, and the pricing page lists automatic CAPTCHA solving at 10 units per solve, residential proxies at 6 units per MB and datacenter proxies at 2 units per MB, read on Sep 29, 2026. The pricing page lists open-source and private Docker versions as self-hosted options.

The trust page lists a SOC 2 Type II report and customer data primarily stored in the United States, read on Sep 29, 2026. A DPA and SSO are listed on the Enterprise plan, read between Sep 29 and Oct 4, 2026.

Questions

Before you commit

Browserless counts usage in units, and one unit covers up to 30 seconds of browser time per browser connection, read on Sep 29, 2026. Concurrent browsers are set by plan: 2 on Free, then 5, 30 and 80 on Prototyping, Starter and Scale when billed monthly, and 10, 40 and 100 when billed annually. A successful CAPTCHA solve is billed at 10 units.

Yes. The pricing page lists the open-source and private Docker versions of Browserless as self-hosted options, read on Sep 29, 2026. Enterprise also lists private deployments or licensed self-hosting.

For Puppeteer and Playwright, the documentation says to replace puppeteer.launch() with puppeteer.connect(), or chromium.launch() with chromium.connectOverCDP(), read on Sep 29, 2026. This page holds no fact on Selenium, so it sets no claim on it.

This page holds no fact on Cloudflare or DataDome, so it sets no claim on how BrowserQL performs against them. The pricing page lists a BrowserQL language and editor on the Free plan, and the homepage lists stealth fingerprints, read on Sep 29, 2026.

The homepage lists its audience as solo devs to global enterprise, read on Oct 4, 2026. Its connection routes are Puppeteer or Playwright scripts, REST APIs and BrowserQL, read on Sep 29, 2026. The documentation also lists a Zapier app.

The pricing page lists residential proxies at 6 units per MB and datacenter proxies at 2 units per MB, read on Sep 29, 2026. Both are counted in units, and this page holds no separate proxy price.

Where to go next

Affiliate linksThis page contains affiliate links: some vendors pay us a commission when you subscribe through their Try button. Scores come from public user reviews, on the same grid for every scored tool. Affiliate disclosure